Rwanda: Ferwafa Announces Executive Committee Nominees – UMUSEKE – News indeed
Recent Posts

RWANDA football federation, Ferwafa has released a list of 23 nominees who have expressed their desire to vie for different positions on Executive Committee. The elections for the different positions on the Executive committee will be held on January 5, 2014 at the Ferwafa headquarters in Kigali.


The Ferwafa Secretary General Michel Gasingwa revealed the list of nominees yesterday.

The list includes five presidential aspirants namely; incumbent president Celestin Ntagungira from Rayon Sports, vice president Raoul Gisanura Ngenzi from Gasabo United, Jean Daniel Mbanda from Unity club, Augustine Munyandamutsa from SEC academy as well as Vincent Degaule Nzabamwita from Intare FC.

Etincelles Fc chairman Veduste Kayiranga is unopposed for the vice president in charge of administration position and should he win, he will be making his second appearance in the executive committee.

The head of finance will be closely battled between three elite figures namely; Rayon Sport’s Olivier Gakwaya, Apolinaire Mpilikanyi from (ARAF) and incumbent Bernard Itangishaka from United Academy.

The communication and marketing commission is also being contested by three nominees namely; Patrick Rubega Kagabo (Pepiniere Kinyinya), incumbent Richard Gahonzire (APR) and Nosisi Toussin (SC Kiyovu).

AS Kigali’s Albert Mwanafunzi is unopposed for the competitions committee chairman while Felicite Rwamalika put in his candidature for the head of women commission.

ASPOR’s Maurice Munyandumutsa and Jacques Kayisire from Isonga are vying for the Youth football commission while Felicien Bandora from Gasabo United contested unopposed for the disciplinary commission.

Safari Mukiga Rutagengwa from Gasabo United and incumbent Emmanuel Ndagijimana from SC Kiyovu are vying for the Legal commission chairman while Amavubi team doctor Moussa Hakizimana who was seconded by AEFR is unopposed for the in-charge of medical commission.

The next committee which takes office next year will undertake a four-year term.

Ntagungira whose interim term ends this year took over Ferwafa after the resignation of Major General Jean Bosco Kazura in 2011.

Whoever will be the next Ferwafa president, he will need to emulate former presidents Lt. Gen Cesar Kayizari whose reign saw Rwanda qualify for the African nations cup in 2004 and Maj. Gen Jean Bosco Kazura who oversaw Rwanda’s first participation at the 2011 world youth championship.

Source: The New Times


Leave a Reply